MLB Announces Playoff Schedule


Major League Baseball announced its 2020 playoff schedule on Tuesday, and it also announced where the games are set to take place.

There has been plenty of speculation that MLB would be implementing a bubble system for the 2020 Playoffs, which is indeed the case.

The final three rounds of the Major League Baseball Playoffs will be held at neutral sites, with players living in a “bubble” until their teams have been eliminated. Major League Baseball was able to get approval from the Players Association to implement this new plan.

Sept. 29 will be the first official day that the 2020 MLB Playoffs can begin, with the American League taking the field that day. The National League will begin play on Sept. 30.

The top four seeds in each league will host all three games of the Wild Card round, which will give those teams an extra advantage. The three division winners in each league and the second-place team with the best overall record will be the hosts.

After those series conclude, teams that advance to the Divisional Round will be housed at the various bubble sites in either California or Texas. The league chose these two locations based on weather concerns.

The American League will be sent to California for the ALDS and ALCS rounds. The games will be held at Petco Park in San Diego and Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles.

The National League will play the NLDS and NLCS rounds in the state of Texas. Globe Life Field in Arlington, Texas, and Minute Maid Park in Houston will host the NLDS rounds.

Globe Life Field, the home of the Texas Rangers, will be the site of the 2020 World Series. The World Series is set to begin on Oct. 20, and a potential Game 7 would take place on Oct. 28.

ESPN Radio also announced that it will provide a live broadcast of all of the 2020 Major League Baseball Playoff games.

Dodgers, White Sox Clinch Playoff Berths

The Los Angeles Dodgers are the first team to clinch a playoff berth in 2020, but now the team has its sights set on the National League West Division crown. This is the eighth consecutive playoff berth for the Los Angeles Dodgers, but they have yet to win a World Series during this time.

Los Angeles entered play on Thursday with a magic number of just seven games to win the National League West. The Dodgers hold the first tiebreaker over the San Diego Padres by virtue of winning the season series by a count of 6-4.

The Dodgers also hold the best record in the National League and will likely be the No. 1 seed when the National League playoffs begin on Sept. 30.

The Chicago White Sox were the second team to clinch a playoff berth with a win over Minnesota on Thursday. Chicago leads the American League with a record of 33-17.